The Royal Canadian Geographical Society
Making Canada better
known to Canadians
and to the world.

Publishers of Canadian Geographic Magazine Publishers of géographica

RCGS News & Events

Governor General of Canada to Present 2013 Geography Awards

Massey Medal to Dr. David Ley; Gold Medal to Robert Bateman

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada and patron of The Royal Canadian Geographical Society (RCGS), will preside over the RCGS Awards Ceremony, held prior to the RCGS College of Fellows Annual Dinner on Wednesday, November 13th, 2013, at the Canadian Museum of Civilization. On this occasion, His Excellency will present the Massey Medal and eight other RCGS awards to Canadians who have helped build a broader knowledge and deeper appreciation of Canada.

What:  The Royal Canadian Geographical Society’s Awards Ceremony
When: Wednesday, November 13th, 2013, 5:00 p.m.
Where:   Canadian Museum of Civilization, Southern Salon (lower level), Gatineau, Quebec
About the Award Recipients

Social and urban geographer David Ley, a professor at the University of British Columbia, will receive the Massey Medal for his career achievements, including his formative research on gentrification in North American cities. Robert Bateman, one of the world’s best-loved wildlife painters and naturalists, will receive the prestigious Gold Medal for working to raise awareness of Canadian geography, and for encouraging Canadians, especially children, to get outdoors. The Mapping Information Branch of Natural Resources Canada will also receive the Gold Medal for the completion of the topographic mapping of Canada at 1:50,000 scale — a major milestone in Canadian cartography that took 98 years to complete. Jill Heinerth, considered the foremost female cave diver on the planet, will receive the inaugural Sir Christopher Ondaatje Medal for Exploration. David Hik, one of Canada’s top Arctic scientists and the former executive director of the Canadian International Polar Year Secretariat, will receive the Martin Bergmann Medal. Jeff Golfman, a Winnipeg-based eco-entrepreneur, will receive the 3M Environmental Innovation Award for his dynamic work creating affordable, high-quality paper from agricultural waste. Anne Smith Mansfield, of the faculty of education at Queen’s University, will receive the 2013 Geographic Literacy Award for her commitment to advancing geographic education from curriculum development to classroom instruction. G.P. Vanier Secondary School teacher Andrew Young will receive the first Innovation in Geography Teaching Award for his ability to explain geography while situating it within a broader scientific and social context. University of Laval professor Gérard Duhaime will receive the Canadian Polar Commission’s Northern Science Award for his work improving life in northern communities, which has made him one of the world’s leading social scientists.

About the Royal Canadian Geographical Society
The Royal Canadian Geographical Society is Canada’s centre for exploration, and operates an expeditions program. Founded in 1929, the Society is dedicated to promoting geographic literacy through its education program, Canadian Geographic Education, and to making Canada better known to Canadians and the world through its publications, awards, lectures and research and expedition grants. Funds raised during the evening will support the Society’s vital educational programs.

For more information, please contact:
Deborah Chapman
Communications Manager
Royal Canadian Geographical Society
O (613) 613-745-4629 ext. 160
C (613) 299-8995

Share this page

   Copyright © 2019 The Royal Canadian Geographical Society SITEMAP  |   CONTACT  |   PRIVACY POLICY  |   TERMS OF USE  |   FRANÇAIS