The Royal Canadian Geographical Society
Making Canada better
known to Canadians
and to the world.

Publishers of Canadian Geographic Magazine Publishers of géographica


Lawrence J. Burpee Medal

2014 Recipients - Parks Canada Victoria Strait Dive Team

Left to right: Jonathan Moore, Ryan Harris, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada and patron of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society, Marc-André Bernier and John Geiger, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Canadian Geographical Society. (Photo: Matt Zambonin/Canadian Geographic)

The 2014 Victoria Strait Expedition made headlines around the world for its discovery of HMS Erebus, one of two exploration ships abandoned in 1848 while searching for the Northwest Passage. A public-private partnership, the Expedition was led by Parks Canada and its Underwater Archaeology Service. For their leadership of the partnership and successful 'find' of HMS Erebus, Marc-Andre Bernier, Ryan Harris and Jonathan Moore are the inaugural winners of the Lawrence J. Burpee Medal of The Royal Canadian Geographical Society. Parks Canada’s Andrew Campbell, Director General, External Relations and Visitor Experience, also received a Lawrence J. Burpee Medal for his steadfast support and stewardship of the Franklin expeditions.

2015 Lawrence J. Burpee Medal recipients »
Share this page

   Copyright © 2019 The Royal Canadian Geographical Society SITEMAP  |   CONTACT  |   PRIVACY POLICY  |   TERMS OF USE  |   FRANÇAIS