The Royal Canadian Geographical Society
Making Canada better
known to Canadians
and to the world.

Publishers of Canadian Geographic Magazine Publishers of géographica


Gold Medal

2015 Recipients - Dr. Jacob Verhoef, Graeme Gibson and Margaret Atwood

The Gold Medal is awarded to recognize a particular achievement by one or more individuals in the general field of geography; or a significant national or international event.

Dr. Jacob Verhoef

The society is pleased to award the 2015 medal to Dr. Jacob Verhoef. As Director of the Geological Survey of Canada, Atlantic, Dr. Verhoef recognized the unique role of Natural Resources Canada in this endeavor and spearheaded Canadian efforts for the UNCLOS Extended Continental Shelf mapping program.

Graeme Gibson

A tireless advocate for Canadian writers, Graeme Gibson has been instrumental in the foundation and the development of major writers’ organizations. Mr. Gibson has made an equally outstanding contribution as a conservationist, serving in leadership roles, including as Joint Honourary President of BirdLife International’s Rare Bird Club, and Chairman of the Pelee Island Bird Observatory.

Margaret Atwood

Her contribution to literature through a remarkable and globally celebrated body of work, Margaret Atwood has deepened our understanding of the relationship between literature and geography. Through works like Survival: A Thematic Guide to Canadian Literature, and Strange Things: The Malevolent North in Canadian Literature, she has illuminated the importance of a sense of ‘here’.  As a major cultural force in Canada, she has done much for culture and environmental protection, and to fulfill the Society’s mission to make Canada better known to Canadians and to the world.

« 2014 Gold Medal Recipeints 2016 Gold Medal Recipient: »
Share this page

   Copyright © 2019 The Royal Canadian Geographical Society SITEMAP  |   CONTACT  |   PRIVACY POLICY  |   TERMS OF USE  |   FRANÇAIS